National Gun Forum banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all. Sorry if this is a total noob post and has been done already, but I'm brand new to the forum. I know the .44 Mag vs .357 Mag question may bring on a Ford vs Chevy kind of debate, but that's kind of what I'm looking for.

I'm looking for some opinions from experienced shooters, loaders, and woodsman. I've shot revolvers but never owned one. I have a Glock .40, & S&W .40 pistols. I also have several rifles including a Winchester 30-30 Model 64A lever gun.

What I'm looking for is a revolver and lever combo for back country all purpose use. Not looking to survive urban warfare or a zombie apocalypse, just wilderness use. I want the ammo to be interchangeable between the handgun and rifle so I was thinking .357 mag or .44 mag with the versatility of .38 and .44 special rounds as well.

So if you were going to load your own ammo and survive in the wilderness of Alaska or Northern Montana, what would choose? For the loaders out there, which ammo is the most accessible and easier to load?

Thanks guys.

·
Registered
2,025 Posts
I have both calibers in rifles and revolvers. Since you mentioned Alaska, if I had to choose only one, it would be the 44. I wouldn't want to rely on a 357 for large game - especially dangerous game like a bear.

·
Registered
7,193 Posts
What he said. I have both .357 lever/ handgun combo and .44 mag lever/handgun combo---- Alaska would call for the .44-- no bears in Texas last time I looked but up in the area you mentioned I would literally be armed for bear and large animals.

·
Ancient Gaseous Emanation
55,659 Posts
So if you were going to load your own ammo and survive in the wilderness of Alaska or Northern Montana, what would choose? For the loaders out there, which ammo is the most accessible and easier to load?
.44 Magnum, no question. There are big critters possessing teeth and claws larger than mine who reside there.

·
Registered