National Gun Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,029 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
http://thomas.loc.gov/cgi-bin/query/z?c110:H.R.6257:

I'm not an expert, but after reading through some of this, it appears to be a verbatim copy of the the '94 weapons act (including dates)

• `(A) means a magazine, belt, drum, feed strip, or similar device manufactured after the date of enactment of the Violent Crime Control and Law Enforcement Act of 1994 that has a capacity of, or that can be readily restored or converted to accept, more than 10 rounds of ammunition;
Does this mean it would be illegal for me to possess the magazines that I bought (which were manufactured) in 2007? :sosp:

Sponsored by Mark Kirk [R-IL].

This link will help you keep tabs on it: http://www.govtrack.us/congress/bill.xpd?bill=h110-6257

Anyone know if this expands on the previous assault weapons ban, or if this is an exact copy? Because if it's an exact copy, it'll expire in 10 years and not have a significant effect, other than raising the price of high capacity magazines.

The bill is H.R. 6257: Assault Weapons Ban Reauthorization Act of 2008 for anyone who wants to look it up themselves.

·
Conservative-Republican
371 Posts
The first of many bills to come I'm sure. We've all seen it coming, I'm already trying to find the money to stock pile extra ammo while I still can.

·
Registered
3,633 Posts