GOD! I hate windows
Advertise with us Click for Rates
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24
Like Tree9Likes

Thread: GOD! I hate windows

  1. #1
    Senior Member NGF Addict! Yosemite Sam's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    11,839

    Default GOD! I hate windows

    I've been using my old computer, the one with dual boot, windows/Linux, to play Doom 3 on windows. This morning it wanted half the day to update to a new version of windows, it just did this a few days ago. So when it got done, it had messed up my boot loader (no more Linux), it doesn't recognize my wifi, so I have to use ethernet, it powers off for no [email protected]#$ing reason. I tried to restore it to the previous version, it worked on it for about 45 minutes, then stalled with the facebook logo front and center. I don't use facebook. so I powered off, turned it back on, and now I'm stuck with what it upgraded to today, and no option to restore to a previous version. No wifi, no Linux, and I never know when it's going to power off. I sent microshit a scathing problem feedback ticket. Thing it, they can't fix it either. They will tell me "new install". I've been using that linux partition for years. I've been working on transferring everything to my Mac, but I expect I'll find something missing some day. windows is a virus, and should be cleaned off every computer.
    "I am fatigued Captain." Khan

  2. #2
    Senior Member NGF Addict! Ziggidy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Ziggidyville
    Posts
    7,228

    Default

    welcome to Mac World! You'll love it......

  3. #3
    Senior Member NGF Addict! Yosemite Sam's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    11,839

    Default

    I do, I DO! Wish I could get some games to install. Shortly after I got it, I installed BatleNet and Epic games trying to play something. My ISP security notified me that they had gotten a call from someone that said their systems had been attacked by a device with my IP. All I could figure was these gaming systems were being used by hackers. So I took them off, and I am running TotalAV on my Mac and both windows machines. So I found a site, Mac-torrents.io, but my TotalAV blocks every game because of viruses. I thought Mac was safe, I've found out different. So all this time I didn't think my old Gateway could handle games, but I found Doom 3, downloaded it, and it runs fine. I tried getting Doom 3 to run on this mac, but I couldn't figure it out. But I go love this Mac. BattleNet and Epic was saying my GPU couldn't run those games because I didn't have Open GL. Bullshit. This thing supports Open GL 4.1, and Open CL 1.2, whatever that is. So this thing rocks!
    "I am fatigued Captain." Khan

  4. #4
    Grand Imperial Poobah NGF Addict! Mad Scientist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    17,860

    Default

    Have you tried Knoppix? It is a Linux disco that boots from a CD or USB drive.
    Hidden Content



    "The very atmosphere of firearms anywhere and everywhere restrains evil interference - they deserve a place of honor with all that's good." - George Washington, the first President of the United States (1789-1797)

  5. #5
    Senior Member NGF Addict! Yosemite Sam's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    11,839

    Default

    No, I just want my system the way it was, but not gonna happen. I need to get a partition program and see if I can recover it. Can't even see it now. Just pisses me off that microshit sends this crap out, you can't stop it or prevent it. They just mess things up for some people and then they fix it, but for some it's too late. No fix for this, they trashed my machine. Now that I have the Mac, I won't be going back to Linux, but I wanted my old installation intact. Too much to ask for when dealing with microshit.
    "I am fatigued Captain." Khan

  6. #6
    Grand Imperial Poobah NGF Addict! Mad Scientist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    17,860

    Default

    Sam,

    Download Knoppix, install it to a CD or USB drive, then boot from that CD drive or USB drive. By doing this, you should be able to tell if your Linux partition is still there on your hard drive. If the partition is still there, you may be able to use the [Only registered and activated users can see links. ] utility to fix your dual boot issue.
    Hidden Content



    "The very atmosphere of firearms anywhere and everywhere restrains evil interference - they deserve a place of honor with all that's good." - George Washington, the first President of the United States (1789-1797)

  7. #7
    Senior Member NGF Addict! Yosemite Sam's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    11,839

    Default

    It's worth a try, thanks.
    "I am fatigued Captain." Khan

  8. #8
    Senior Member NGF Addict! fixitfred's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Metro Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    2,397

    Default

    I don't know what "old computer" means but having the latest and greatest alleviates many problems. Software list minimum hardware requirements but they are almost always inadequate. I try to keep my hardware up to date. I'm currently running an AMD Ryzen 7 with a Samsung SSD, 970 EVO NVMe M.2 which I think makes a world of difference. 32Gig of ddr4. I think with a GTX1060 or 70 I forget which I stay a few steps behind the top end to get the price breaks.

    Windows 10 runs great and games play good.
    Last edited by fixitfred; 08-14-2019 at 10:42 PM. Reason: fix pesky typos
    BigNastyCowboy likes this.
    NRA 5 year+ member -- at my age that may be a life membership. My son is a life member.
    Si vis pacem para bellum -- If you seek peace, prepare for war.
    Proud Infidel كافر

  9. #9
    Senior Member NGF Addict! Yosemite Sam's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    11,839

    Default

    I wish I could afford the fancy stuff. It's ok, keep my archaic skills up. I started the instillation of my new linux. Linux developers know they willl have to deal with the windows virus, so they're well prepared. I don'y understand partitions like I should, a 500gb drive, my intent was half and half, but I ended up with 250gb in lala land. I don't a lot of space, but it would be good to have. 'No biggy. Linux will create it's own loader, with an option to pass it off to windows, like I always have. It will chug away for a few hours, and wait for me. This version of mint will be 2 full revisions since my last updated. Progress.
    "I am fatigued Captain." Khan

  10. #10
    Senior Member NGF Addict! Yosemite Sam's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    11,839

    Default

    Got it back. Linux rewrote the Grub bootloader, now I have my old Linux, my new Linux, and windows. The new Linux only took 2gb, I thought I installed it on a 92gb partition, but oh well. Maybe I'll study up on partitions and see if I can get it straightened out, or maybe not. Everything is working, best leave it alone I guess. Or, MAYBE, format the entire drive, create 2 partitions splitting the drive in half, a new windows 10 and a new Linux, and then configure them to my liking, just think!
    BigNastyCowboy likes this.
    "I am fatigued Captain." Khan

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)